Puerto Rico

The smallest island of the Greater Antilles, Puerto Rico is only 100 miles long by 35 miles wide.  Puerto Rico is known as the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and is an unincorporated territory of the United States of America.  Located in the northeastern Caribbean, Puerto Rico sits to the east of Dominican Republic and west of both the US Virgin Islands and British Virgin Islands.  Puerto Rico is home to 3.5 million people. As a thriving European colonial port, the early capital, San Juan Bautista (in honour of Saint John the Baptist) became known as “rich port” (Puerto Rico) after finding gold in the river. Traders and other visitors soon came to refer to the entire island as Puerto Rico, whereas the name San Juan stuck for the main trading and shipping port and capital city.



Day Trip to the Walled City of San Juan
Puerto Rico, also known as the island of enchantment to the locals.  We stopped in the capital city of San
Read more.
error: Content is protected !!